Gordon Burn Prize 2016 shortlist announced

10 August 2016

We are thrilled to announce the shortlist for the Gordon Burn Prize 2016.

The shortlist for the Gordon Burn Prize 2016 is:

A Woman on the Edge of Time: A Son’s Search for his Mother by Jeremy Gavron
The Lonely City: Adventures in the Art of Being Alone by Olivia Laing
Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh
Anatomy of a Soldier by Harry Parker
All That Man Is by David Szalay
And the Sun Shines Now by Adrian Tempany

The prize was founded in memory of Gordon Burn, a writer who pushed the boundaries and whose work across fiction, non-fiction and journalism was bold and fearless. The prize is run in partnership by the Gordon Burn Trust, Faber & Faber (Gordon’s publisher), New Writing North and the Durham Book Festival.

The Gordon Burn Prize is bring judged this year by the novelists Jenn Ashworth and William Boyd, journalist and writer Rachel Cooke, and the artist and author Harland Miller.

The winner of will be announced on Friday 7 October at the opening of this year’s Durham Book Festival. We very much hope you’ll join us.


What are you looking for?


Sign up for our newsletter