Douglas Davies, Hilary Grainger and James Wallman: Minimalist Mortality

Event Details

  • 12th October, 10.30–11.30am
  • Durham Town Hall
  • Tickets: £8/£7

Book Tickets

Call 03000 266 600

Event Details

  • 12th October, 10.30–11.30am
  • Durham Town Hall
  • Tickets: £8/£7

Book Tickets

Call 03000 266 600

Döstädning, or death cleaning, is the Swedish practice of setting our affairs in order in our later years. In this event we’ll explain death-cleaning and life-clearing. 

Professor Douglas Davies FBA is the Director of Durham University’s Centre for Death and Life Studies and the author of A Brief History of Death. He’ll be joined by Professor Hilary Grainger, OBE, leading scholar on British crematorium design, and author and activist James Wallman, whose book Stuffocation reveals the world’s growing sense of stuffocation and how we can move away from it. His most recent book is Time and How to Spend it.

This event is perfect for fans of Marie Kondo’s The Life-changing Magic of Tidying and Margareta Magnusson’s popular book The Gentle Art of Swedish Death Cleaning. 


Event Details

  • 12th October, 10.30–11.30am
  • Durham Town Hall
  • Tickets: £8/£7

Book Tickets

Call 03000 266 600

Events on the same day

Open your mind Immerse yourself

Watch

Watch the latest videos...

Read

Read the latest news and blog articles...

Listen

Listen to the latest artist podcasts...

×

What are you looking for?

×

Sign up for our newsletter